Where was the Thorn Chateau in Normandy?

This remains one of the great mysteries of my research. It seems that Colonel Thorn owned or rented a Chateau in Normandy. So far, I have not been able to identify which one! If any of my French relatives have a suggestion, I would love to hear it. This would have been between 1830 and 1845. Let me know if you have any ideas. Their chateau has had two mentions that I have found so far:

Even Colonel Thorne of New York, who, in the days of Louis – Philippe, spent twenty thousand pounds a year, whose afternoon armorial bearings were different from those of the forenoon, who entertained at his château in Normandy… 

He [George Healy] completed, notably, the portrait of the two daughters of Colonel Thorne, a wealthy American who lived in a princely mansion in Paris and owned a château in the country. 

Among these, Colonel Thorn and his family held a distinguished position. Their house in town and their chateau in the country were thrown open with grand hospitality…

In lieu of showing you the Thorn’s chateau, I have put in an image of Chateau des Bretignolles, owned by Jane and Etienne de Pierres. Bretignolles is going through a massive restoration, which I’m very excited about.

Chateau des Bretignolles

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑